Sunburst for Kentucky

Running onto the inner track of Church Hill Downs (Kentucky Derby fame) the thought hit me: whereas Notre Dame fans like the idea of running onto the field at the Sunburst races, Kentuckians like the idea of running on the track of Church Hill Downs.

But that didn’t help me much: Mile 14 I crashed. I would complain about the hills, so I will…I wasn’t prepared for them. The course was beautiful, but in no way should I have been trying for a PR. Wonderful people and wonderfully organized.

So, here are my numbers (and they had a really cool thing where people could follow your progress through the course. I signed up for the results to be sent to my email address, so I’m posting the last one that summarizes my race (and you’ll see a drop off from about the half-way point: 20ishK…I was on pace for a 3:40 finish until then):

Chris Judson has finished the Derby Festival Marathon in 4:02:56 at an average pace of 9:16.1.

According to preliminary results, he is number 343 overall and number 43 in his age group. These results are subject to change when results are finalized.

Splits:

10K: 0:51:27
15K: 1:17:43
25K: 2:13:06
30K: 2:43:09
Finish (42.2K) – Gun Time: 4:04:52
Finish (42.2K) – Net Time: 4:02:56

Thanks Louisville, KY for a wonderful experience and good seafood at Joe’s Crab Shack on the River!

Explore posts in the same categories: running

Leave a Reply

